Photo Credit: Florian Schulz


The Voice of the Wild Award was created by Alaska Wilderness League to recognize individuals whose actions, commitment and contributions have led to greater awareness about protecting and preserving Alaska’s wilderness.

Voice of the Wild Honorees

2022: Patagonia
2019: Tom Campion (Inaugural Mardy Murie Lifetime Achievement Award recipient)
Bernadette Demientieff and the Gwich’in Steering Committee
2017: John Sterling and The Conservation Alliance

2016: Rose Letwin
2015: George Divoky
2014: Lois and Ward Irwin.  This year the League awarded our Voice of the Wild award to the dynamic duo of Lois and Ward Irwin. Their years of numerous back country trips into remote Arctic (when “gear” was non-existent), testifying in Congress and writing our presidents urging them to keep Alaska wild have been critical to our success.
2013: Jim Campbell and Carol Kasza, owners of Arctic Treks guiding company, Fairbanks, AK
2012: Debbie S. Miller, author, Fairbanks, AK
2011: Helen Cherullo, publisher of Mountaineers Books, Seattle, WA
2010: Amy Gulick, nature photographer and writer, Clinton, WA
2009: Rosemary Ahtuangaruak, Inupiaq activist, Barrow, AK
2008: Terry Tempest Williams, author, Castle Valley, UT
2007: Joel Connelly, journalist, Seattle, WA